Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Practice team blog

Your practice editors Kathryn, Ann, Eileen and Fran talk about nursing in practice

'Work away from the bedside matters too'

Posted by Kathryn GodfreyMon, 9 Nov 2015

But has this often-voiced criticism meant that all organisational work has been lumped in together as not being a good use of nurses’ time.

Do we need to keep debating what nursing is?

Posted by Fran EntwistleMon, 26 Oct 2015

Last week we hosted our first ever Directors’ of Nursing Congress. This exclusive event aimed to give chief nurses a platform to discuss topical nursing issues, to identify where changes could be made and learn from each other to improve healthcare for both staff and patients.

Sorry seems to be the hardest word

Posted by Kathryn GodfreyMon, 28 Sep 2015

Analysis of complaints sent to the health service ombudsman has found that not receiving an adequate apology is the most common complaint, accounting for a third of cases last year.

'What was the moment when you realised nursing was for you?'

Posted by Fran EntwistleMon, 14 Sep 2015

Last week we gatecrashed the excitement of the new term with our student readers.

The patients we choose not to touch

Posted by Eileen ShepherdMon, 31 Aug 2015

I recently read the novel Even the Dogs, which is a fascinating insight into the lives of homeless and vulnerable people. The author Jon McGregor describes the stark realities of living on the edge of society, but what is most striking are his references to the importance of touch. He writes about how infrequently positive touch occurs in his characters’ lives, and describes one experience of a consultation with a nurse:

'Let us help you get ready for revalidation'

Posted by Ann ShuttleworthMon, 17 Aug 2015

It’s now five years since we launched Nursing Times Learning, our suite of online learning units, and in that time nurses have used it to complete over 35,000 hours’ CPD. After months of planning, editorial enhancements and technical design work, we are delighted to have launched a new learning system to better meet nurses’ professional development needs.

Hospital discharge is still putting patients at risk

Posted by Kathryn GodfreyMon, 3 Aug 2015

There is more to planning a hospital discharge than ordering medications and booking the transport. All the care and treatment that patients receive while in hospital can be compromised if their discharge home leaves them vulnerable.

If you’re not going to show off, at least show someone else off

Posted by Fran EntwistleMon, 20 Jul 2015

Three weeks ago, RCN chief executive and general secretary Peter Carter urged nurses to speak out about their achievements.

Does mandatory training have to be boring?

Posted by Eileen ShepherdWed, 1 Jul 2015

In his book Do No Harm retired neurosurgeon Henry Marsh described the irritation of taking time away from his work to sit though mandatory training.

'Start planning now and you'll find revalidation painless'

Posted by Ann ShuttleworthTue, 16 Jun 2015

It’s been talked about for so long that nurses could be forgiven for thinking nurse revalidation would never happen. But it is happening – and it’s happening soon.

Telling the difference between dementia and delirium

Posted by Kathryn GodfreyMon, 8 Jun 2015

Patients who suffer from delirium are more likely to have poor outcomes according to a systematic review and meta-analysis published last week.A third of patients admitted to ICU were found to develop delirium. These patients were found to have an increased ...

'Let's realise the potential of our practice nurses'

Posted by Eileen ShepherdMon, 25 May 2015

I wonder if anyone was surprised by the recent news that a group of GP practices have been placed into special measures.

Do student nurses need telling how great they are?

Posted by Fran EntwistleMon, 18 May 2015

Last week we had the pleasure of hosting our fourth Student Nursing Times Awards.

'Now take a look at the Conservative manifesto and see what you've been promised'

Posted by Ann ShuttleworthMon, 11 May 2015

So after months of campaigning, and commentators pontificating about the implications of all the different coalition permutations, we have a majority government after all.

Should hospital treatments take the weekend off?

Posted by Kathryn GodfreyMon, 4 May 2015

The nature of weekends have changed over the years. Fifty years ago pretty much everything stopped on a Sunday. If you went into the centre of a town it would be eerily quiet – unlike today.

Are student nurses living in poverty?

Posted by Fran EntwistleMon, 27 Apr 2015

Sometimes you see a headline and know an article is going to be worth the five minutes it will take to read. That’s how I felt when a member of our news team filed a story from the Unison conference: ‘Student nurses should be paid “living wage” while on placement, says union’.

'Knowledge of how to care for people with dementia is not reaching many staff'

Posted by Eileen ShepherdMon, 20 Apr 2015

A few weeks ago I went to see Still Alice and cried. Despite close contact with people with dementia it was a shock to see a middle-aged woman with the condition, her rapid decline and the impact her illness had on those around her. As a woman in my fifties I was also frightened by what the future might hold.

Staff afraid to raise concerns? Nothing to do with us, Sir Robert

Posted by Ann ShuttleworthMon, 6 Apr 2015

In his recent report into whistleblowing Sir Robert Francis QC felt the need to call for legal protection for staff who raise concerns about care. This is a full two years on from his report into care failings at Mid Staffs, which lifted the lid on how the organisation treated staff who spoke up.

'Some good news for care of the older person'

Posted by Kathryn GodfreyMon, 30 Mar 2015

It seems the tide may be turning on the way older people are treated in the NHS, with the need to develop and improve this important area of care at last being acknowledged and acted on. There were two announcements this week that gave me hope that change is coming.

Job of the week

Related jobs