Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Awards launched for members of RCN Wales

  • Comment

The Royal College of Nursing in Wales officially launched its “Nurse of the Year” awards for 2013 on Monday.

The awards were launched at a reception for RCN Welsh members attending the annual college congress in Liverpool.

There are 14 categories, each with a winner and a runner up.  Winners will receive a monetary reward and a trophy, and the overall winner will receive the accolade of becoming RCN in Wales Nurse of the Year Award for 2013.

Christine Thomas, chair of the Welsh Board of the RCN and RCN council member for Wales, said: “The everyday heroism of nurses is often an expectation that goes unrecognised and unrewarded. That needs to be put right, and these awards contribute to such redress.

“The way that nurses in Wales, on a daily basis, make the best use of limited resources to provide continuously improving care is an inspiration.”

Christine Thomas, Chair of the RCN Welsh Board added: “The inaugural RCN in Wales Nurse of the Year Awards influenced and changed the nursing agenda in Wales and I am very excited about continuing on from last year’s success with the event this year.”

She urged both colleagues and patients to nominate a nurse or healthcare assistant based in Wales who they felt “deserves recognition for their work”. 

The award categories are:

• RCN Wales Nurse of the Year Award

• Chief Nursing Officer for Wales Award

• Health Care Support Worker Award

• Nursing Student Award

• Learning Disabilities and Mental Health Award

• Children and Midwifery Award

• Clinical Nurse Specialist Award

• Community Nursing Award

• Registered Nurse (Adult) Award

• Nursing Research Award

• Nursing Innovation Award

• Nurse Education Award

• Commissioner for Older Persons Award

• Humanitarian Relief Award.

Forms for all categories are available from the RCN by telephoning 02920 680723 or can be downloaded from the RCN Wales website.

The Nurse of the Year Awards Ceremony and Gala Dinner will be held on 27 November 2013 at City Hall, Cardiff.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.