Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Nurse leaders confirmed as judges for 2017 Patient Safety Awards

  • Comment

The national director of patient safety Mike Durkin, prominent patient safety campaigners and leaders within the nursing profession have been confirmed as judges for this year’s Patient Safety Awards.

NHS Improvement

Nurse staffing shortage is ‘top priority’ for regulator

Source: Kate Stanworth

NHS Improvement nursing director, Ruth May

Directors of nursing on the panel include Bronagh Scott from NHS England, Diane Sarkar from Basildon and Thurrock University Hospitals Foundation Trust, Birmingham Women’s Foundation Trust’s Helen Young and Karen Proctor from Guy’s & St Thomas’s Foundation Trust.  

James Titcombe, a patient safety specialist for Datix whose campaigning exposed poor care of mothers and babies at Morecambe Bay, and the founder of Patients First Kim Holt are also judges for the 2017 awards.

Other judges include NHS Improvement nursing director Ruth May; head of nursing practice at the RCN, Wendy Preston; and head of patient safety at NHS Improvement, Frances Healey.

The awards recognise and reward outstanding practice in the NHS and independent providers to improve patient safety, across 21 awards categories including 10 new ones for 2017.

The deadline for entering the awards has been extended to 9am on 30 January.

The winners will be revealed at the Patient Safety Congress in Manchester on 4-5 July.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.