Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Call to nominate ‘outstanding’ HCAs for new award

  • Comment

Nominations are being sought for an awards scheme to celebrate the work of healthcare assistants for the first time.

A new category for HCAs has been included in the annual awards run by the Cavell Nurses’ Trust charity, which provides personal and financial support to nurses.

“This new award focuses attention on the great work they do”

Christina McAnea

The Jean Atkinson MBE Award for Outstanding Healthcare Assistant is being sponsored by the union Unison.

It is named after Ms Atkinson, a former nursing auxiliary from the North West, in order to recognise her work on behalf of healthcare staff over the 28 years she worked in the NHS.

Unison said it wanted to encourage health professionals to nominate colleagues who demonstrated “consistently high standards of care” in their work as part of the NHS team.

Unison head of health Christina McAnea said: “Jean dedicated her working life to improving the NHS and took every opportunity to act on behalf of staff, particularly healthcare assistants.

“The NHS is such a success because all staff play their part ensuring patients get the best care possible,” she said.

“Healthcare assistants are an essential part of that team and this new award focuses attention on the great work they do,” she added.

Vicky Law, the Cavell Awards event organiser, said “We’re really pleased with the response so far and we’re looking forward to welcoming the outstanding healthcare assistant nominees at the Cavell Awards ceremony in June.”

Nominations and applications for the award close on 21 April. The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on 22 June at the Grand Connaught Rooms in central London.

Other award categories, which are now closed, include an international impact award, one for excellence in care for older people and military nursing.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.