Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Nurses among NHS award winners recognised by parliament

  • Comment

A cancer nurse and a group of community tissue viability nurses are among 10 projects honoured in parliament, as part of a special one-off awards to mark the NHS 70th birthday.

The NHS70 Parliamentary Awards, sponsored by IBM and Teva, were launched in February to recognise the contribution made by individuals who work in and alongside the NHS.

“Sian has dedicated her career to supporting people with cancer”

Andreas Haimböck-Tichy

MPs in England were asked to nominate individuals and teams serving their constituents across 10 categories. Regional champions were selected in May, with the national winners chosen by a panel of senior leaders representing staff and patients.

The 10 categories included Lifetime Achievement, Future NHS, Excellence in Cancer Care, Person Centred-care, Excellence in Urgent Care, Excellence in Primary Care, Care and Compassion, Healthier Communities, Patient and Public Involvement, and Excellence in Mental Health Care.

Sian Dennison, a lead cancer nurse from Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust, received the award for Excellence in Cancer Care due to her positive and caring approach for the last 30 years.

Ms Dennison was praised for her numerous achievements including implementing survivorship projects, the establishment of patient cancer groups, and refurbishment of end of life rooms.

“It’s an opportune moment to recognise the extraordinarily dedicated and selfless health service staff”

Simon Stevens

She was also praised for her development of cancer training roles and education to support training, as well as a succession plan for the future.

Currently working as her trust’s head of nursing for cancer and end of life, and cancer manager, Ms Dennison was nominated by Plymouth MPs Jonny Mercer, Gary Streeter, and Luke Pollard.

She was selected from more than 750 nominations submitted by over 250 MPs, to receive an award at a ceremony in the Palace of Westminster’s Terrace Pavilion, which was hosted by GP and TV Doctor Dr Sara Kayat.

Andreas Haimböck-Tichy, director of healthcare and life sciences at IBM, said: “Sian has dedicated her career to supporting people with cancer, and is a great example of the huge difference that nurses can make for patients.

“She’s a real asset to the NHS, and a very worthy winner of this award,” he said.

Meanwhile, Pennine Acute Hospital NHS Trust’s North Manchester Community Services Tissue Viability team was also recognised during the birthday awards as Person Centred-care Champions for their work to help those who are homeless and hard to reach.

“Today’s winners encapsulate the amazing work of NHS staff and volunteers”

Ian Dalton

Nominated by Lucy Powell MP, the trust’s Urban Village Medical practice was selected for its enhanced services for the homeless population.

The medical practice has been praised for its drop-in wound care service provided by GPs, practice nurses and advanced nurse practitioners, as well as drug, alcohol and mental health workers.

The team have seen a reduction in secondary care attendance and was praised for developing meaningful engagement with many members of their client group who often struggle to have their healthcare needs met.

Ruth May, executive director of nursing at NHS Improvement, said: “This service is extremely deserving of this recognition, and is a great example of what happens when front-line staff work together to identify innovative solutions to common problems, and are supported to put them in place.

“Thanks to them, and in line with the national #stopthepressure focus on wound care, homeless people are having their needs met in the community, improving their health outcomes while reducing inappropriate A&E attendances – a great result for everyone,” she said.

University Hospitals Plymouth NHS Trust

Sian Dennison

Sian Dennison

NHS England chief executive Simon Stevens said: “As we celebrate the 70th birthday of the NHS, it’s an opportune moment to recognise the extraordinarily dedicated and selfless health service staff, and those who work or volunteer alongside them, who make the NHS what it is today: the institution that our fellow citizens say makes them proudest to be British.”

Ian Dalton, NHS Improvement chief executive, said: “Today’s winners encapsulate the amazing work of NHS staff and volunteers.

“We are celebrating all sorts of contributions, because it takes all sorts of people to make the NHS run, from heroes in unsung roles who have devoted their lives to the NHS, to innovators who are changing the way the NHS works,” he added.

Wider celebrations to mark the NHS’s big birthday will include thousands of NHS Big 7Tea parties to raise money for NHS charities, whilst dozens of landmark buildings will light up blue, including York Minster, the Blackpool Tower, the Gateshead Millennium Bridge, the London Eye and Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park. The BT Tower will also run a special birthday message on its iconic infoband.

Full list of award winners:

  • Lifetime Achievement: Rose Bennett at Solent NHS Trust (nominated by Stephen Morgan MP).
  • Future NHS: Professor Shafi Ahmed - Consultant General, Laparoscopic and Colorectal Surgeon at Barts Health NHS Trust (nominated by Rushanara Ali MP).
  • Excellence in Cancer Care: Sian Dennison, Lead Cancer Nurse at Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust (nominated by Jonny Mercer MP, Gary Streeter MP, and Luke Pollard MP).
  • Person centred-care: Community Tissue Viability Services at Pennine Acute NHS Trust in Manchester (nominated by Lucy Powell).
  • Excellence in Urgent Care: HECTOR (Heartlands Elderly Care, Trauma and Ongoing Recovery Project) at Heart of England NHS Foundation Trust in Birmingham (nominated by Jess Philips MP).
  • Excellence in Primary Care: Cumbria Health on Call in Penrith (nominated by Tim Farron MP, John Stevenson MP, Trudy Harrison MP, Rory Stewart MP, and Sue Hayman MP).
  • Care and Compassion: Butterfly Volunteers at East and North Hertfordshire NHS Trust (nominated by Sir Oliver Heald QC MP).
  • Healthier Communities: Islington GP Federation (nominated by Jeremy Corbyn MP).
  • Patient and Public Involvement: Victoria’s Voice Youth Forum at Blackpool Teaching Hospitals Foundation NHS Trust (nominated by Paul Maynard MP).
  • Excellence in Mental Health Care: Dorset Armed Forces Community Health and Wellbeing Project at Dorset HealthCare University NHS Foundation Trust (nominated by Tobias Ellwood MP and Michael Tomlinson MP)


  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.