Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Nursing profession's achievements celebrated at annual Nursing Times awards

  • Comment

A primary care nurse from Sussex was last night revealed as the 2016 Nursing Times “nurse of the year” at a glittering awards ceremony in London.

Erin Docherty is mental health nurse who works at the Saxonbrook Medical Practice in Crawley, West Sussex.

Over the last 12 months, she has founded and run a “wellbeing clinic” that gives patients access to a mental health specialist at their local GP practice.

More than 300 patients have accessed the clinic and have been assessed, equipped and supported in their journey from mental health to recovery and wellbeing.

Ms Docherty also heads the safeguarding at the practice and has built a service that fully involves other professionals in the community.


Erin Docherty

In addition, she volunteers for youth charity Street360, delivers mental health training in local schools, and supervises a group of mentors.

Meanwhile, the “team of the year” award for 2016 went to the black and minority ethnic staff development steering group at Barts Health NHS Trust.

The trust, which is the largest in England, has around 15,000 staff, but female and BME staff are under-represented in senior management roles.

To address the discrepancy, the multi-disciplinary group was established, which consists of nurses, midwives and other staff representatives.

Its members are working on how to have the greatest impact in addressing and enabling staff to overcome the “glass ceiling effect”.

As a long-time supporter of the Nursing Times Awards, His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales gives an award for integrated approaches to care.

This year, the award went to a group including Hampshire Constabulary and Isle of Wight NHS Trust with Wessex Academic Health Science Network.

Under the group’s “serenity” partnership, mental health workers are placed in police patrol cars and control centres in an effort to improve the support available to people in crisis.

The initiative is credited with producing some “startling clinical improvements”, with a reduction in the number of people taken to police cells and better experiences for those in mental health crisis.

Our “nurse leader of the year” for 2016 was named as Karen Jordan, from Spectrum Community Health Community Interest Company.

The social enterprise provides community services across Yorkshire to patients at risk of being “cut off” from other parts of the NHS.

Ms Jordan is credited with tailoring the services that her team delivers to the geographical environment and going beyond the call of duty to help patients with complex needs.

For example, she designed an outreach engagement model with weekly home visits, enabling nursing staff to carry out health and wellbeing screenings, vaccinations and detox support in patients’ own homes to the same standard as they would in clinic.

Nursing Times Awards

Practice nurse named Nursing Times ‘nurse of the year’

Source: Steve Ford

Nursing Times Awards 2016

One service user said: “I’m not sure that I would be alive now without my nurse. When she steps into my house, I know that I’ve got someone on my side who is going to help me.”

Perhaps unusually, this year’s community award went to a bus. The National Express UK “health bus” acts as a mobile occupational health unit for the company’s employees.

The bus’s nurse, Karen Harrison, provides advice and guidance that enables employees to enhance their health and wellbeing. She also carries out tests, including ECGs and cholesterol checks.

In 24 months, the bus and its staff have offered over 3,000 private consultations, meeting 20 employees per day and spending at least 20 minutes with each.

The Nursing Times Awards for 2016 were presented last night in a ceremony at the Grosvenor House hotel on London’s Park Lane.

The audience heard addresses from Nursing Times editor Jenni Middleton, chief nursing officer for England Jane Cummings, our lifetime achievement award winner Elizabeth Anionwu and Unison’s outgoing head of nursing Gail Adams.

See below for a full list of winners and download the brochure (see attached PDF at bottom of article) to read more about their entries and those of the other finalists.

 Nursing Times Award winners for 2016

  • Cancer Nursing – Velindre NHS Trust
  • Care of Older People – North Staffordshire Clinical Commissioning Group, and Staffordshire and Stoke on Trent Partnership NHS Trust
  • Child and Adolescent Services – Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Rising Star – Dionne Levy, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Continence Promotion and Care – ERIC, the children’s bowel and bladder charity
  • Managing Long-term Conditions – Nottinghamshire Health Care NHS Foundation Trust
  • Clinical Research Nursing – University Hospitals of North Midlands
  • Surgical Nursing – Stockport NHS Foundation Trust
  • Nurse Leader of the Year – Karen Jordan, Spectrum Community Health CIC
  • Emergency and Critical Care – Tameside NHS Foundation Trust
  • Enhancing Patient dignity – Northampton General Hospital NHS Trust
  • Infection Prevention and Control – Wirral University Teaching Hospital
  • Technology and Data in Nursing – Kent Community Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • Nursing in Mental Health – Saxonbrook Medical Practice
  • Nursing in the Community – National express UK Bus
  • Patient Safety Improvement – NHS Gloucestershire Clinical Commissioning Group
  • Respiratory Nursing – Sunderland Royal Hospital
  • Learning Disabilities Nursing – Siron Care and Health CIC
  • HRH The Prince of Wales Award for Integrated Approaches to Care – Hampshire Constabulary and Isle of Wight NHS Trust with Wessex Academic Health Science Network
  • Nurse of the Year – Erin Docherty, Saxonbrook Medical Practice
  • Team of the Year – Barts Health NHS Trust
  • Chief Nursing Officers’ Award for Lifetime Achievement – Elizabeth Anionwu
  • Comment

Related files

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.