Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

CNO calls for award nominations to celebrate healthcare heroes

  • Comment

NHS England has today launched the second year of its parliamentary awards to celebrate and give national recognition to staff who “go above and beyond the call of duty”.

The NHS Parliamentary Award 2019 were created last year to coincide with the NHS 70th anniversary to celebrate staff, carers and volunteers and their hard work, innovation and efforts to put patients first.

MPs are now searching for and want to hear from outstanding individuals in their local area for 2019 who have innovated, impressed and made a real difference to how the NHS provides patient care.

There are 10 categories, including a lifetime achievement award to honour those who have devoted their life or career to making the NHS better, both for patients and those who work within it.

All those who are shortlisted will be invited to an awards ceremony in parliament to celebrate their fantastic achievements. Last year over 250 MPs made over 750 nominations.

“I would encourage all those who have seen or received outstanding care first hand, to send nominations to their MP”

Ruth May

Ruth May, chief nursing officer for England, said: “There is no doubt in my mind that our staff make the NHS what it is today – a much loved institution that staff and patients can be proud of.

“The expertise, skill and knowledge of nursing, midwifery and care staff make them great leaders and innovators who provide high quality care to us, day in, day out,” she said.

She added: “I would encourage all those who have seen or received outstanding care first hand, to send nominations to their MP and give our local NHS staff the national recognition they deserve.”

NHS national medical director Professor Stephen Powis said: “The NHS Long Term Plan set out how the health service will expand and improve care for patients over the coming years.

“But none of these ambitions will be possible without the skill and dedication of the 1.3 million staff who work for the NHS, including our doctors, nurses, cleaners, receptionists and many more,” he said.

“We want to celebrate with them as part of the NHS Parliamentary Award 2019,” added Professor Powis.

MPs will be calling for potential nominations in the following categories:

  • The Excellence in Healthcare Award: an individual or team which is going above and beyond to improve outcomes and experience for patients living with and beyond cancer
  • The Excellence in Mental Health Care Award: an individual or team which has developed new and effective services to help people living with mental health problems in the community
  • The Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care Award: an individual or team which has made improvements to how the NHS treats people in life or death situations
  • The Excellence in Primary Care Award: a primary care practitioner, for example, doctors, dentists and pharmacists or a team which is working with patients to help them stay healthy in their own homes
  • The Future NHS Award: an individual or team that has successfully trialled and embedded innovative change(s) to empower and improve care for patients
  • The Health Equalities Award: an individual or organisation that helps the NHS to do its bit by bringing together different groups and organisations to reduce health inequalities and prevent ill health in their community
  • The Care and Compassion Award: any nurse, midwife or care staff member of any discipline and in any setting who has used their skills to ensure that patients experience care and compassion
  • The Volunteer of the Year: to celebrate volunteers who help shape and deliver better services in their area
  • The Wellbeing at Work Award: to the person or team that has successfully trialled and embedded change(s) that have made the NHS a better place to work
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award: for an individual who has worked within a health or care setting for 40 years or more who has left a lasting legacy


  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.