Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Inaugural ‘psoriasis nurse of the year’ named

  • Comment

Lucy Moorhead, an advanced nurse practitioner at Guys’ and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust, has won the inaugural “psoriasis nurse of the year” award.

Ms Moorhead, from Hitchin, was nominated by several patients, including Libby Tett, from Ipswich, who said she had “reassured me and listened to me when no one else would”.

“Nurses have a vital role to play in the ongoing care of people with psoriasis”

Lynne Skrine

Judges highlighted her unswerving commitment and going the extra mile, often way beyond the remit of her job, to ensure patients in her care received the best support possible, even out of hours.

Ms Moorhead, part of her trust’s severe psoriasis team, said: “I was truly honoured to win this award, and so touched that Libby and other patients nominated me.

“I often see what a difference it makes to people with psoriasis when they receive regular personalised care,” she said. “It boosts their self-confidence and motivation to effectively manage their condition, and that’s a reward in itself for us as nurses, to see those we care for empowered.

“But it’s fantastic to see the support we give as psoriasis nurses recognised in this more formal way,” she added.

The award was presented to her last night in front of 220 other nursing professionals at the British Dermatological Nursing Group’s annual conference in Bournemouth.

Launched this year by the group, the award is intended to recognise the work of psoriasis nurses delivering exceptional support and care to their patients.

The award was judged by members of the group’s executive committee and a representative from the charity the Psoriasis Association.

British Dermatological Nursing Group

Inaugural ‘psoriasis nurse of the year’ named

Source: Copyright © 2016 Stephen Radley

Lucy Moorhead and Libby Tett with the award

Lynne Skrine, president of the British Dermatological Nursing Group, said: “Nurses have a vital role to play in the ongoing care of people with psoriasis, providing both clinical and practical support to help those affected cope with their day to day lives.

“We were therefore delighted to launch the award and to receive nearly 50 heartfelt nominations for nurses from all corners of the UK and Ireland, reinforcing just how much their support is valued,” she said.

“The quality of entries was exceptional,” added Ms Skrine.

Ms Moorhead was presented with a bespoke trophy, created by a graffiti artist, that depicts the support given by nurses to people with psoriasis.

The British Dermatological Nursing Group was established in 1989 to offer an independent speciality group of nurses and healthcare professionals with an interest in dermatology.

The Psoriasis Nurse of the Year award was fully funded by pharmaceutcal company Celgene UK and Ireland


  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.