Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Leading lights of college honoured at RCN annual congress

  • Comment

The hard work and dedication of Royal College of Nursing members was recognised at the opening ceremony of its annual conference in Liverpool on Saturday evening.

Awards of Merit were presented to Jason Warriner and Zeba Arif to honour their outstanding voluntary service to the RCN and their having “gone above and beyond” what was expected to support members.

Mr Warriner, a former chair of RCN congress, was described as “well-known and highly respected figure” within and outside the college, with an “unsurpassed” knowledge of the field of sexual health.

Meanwhile, Ms Arif was described as having been an “outstanding” RCN member for more than 30 years, and a “strong, powerful and enthusiastic advocate for nurses and nursing”.

She was never afraid to make her voice heard on controversial issues, but always with “professionalism, passion and humour”, said the college.

RCN fellowships were also presented to seven members of the profession for exceptional contributions to nursing or healthcare.

They included the long-standing director of the RCN in Wales, Tina Donnelly, who has been in the role since 2004.

RCN fellows for 2017:

  • Felicia Cox
  • Tina Donnelly
  • Debby Holloway
  • Ruth Oshikanlu
  • Professor Ian Peate
  • Robert Sowney
  • Dr Sue Woodward

Other awards presented included those for RCN representatives of the year, Student Information Officer of the Year and those from the RCN Foundation.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.