Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

RCN in Wales launches annual call for awards nominations

  • Comment

Nominations are now open for the Royal College of Nursing’s annual awards for nurses in Wales, it has been announced.

The college today launched the RCN in Wales Nurse of the Year Awards for 2018 at Ysbyty Cwm Cynon, Cwm Taf University Health Board.

“These prestigious awards recognise the very best in nursing”

Tina Donnelly

Now in its seventh year, the awards were created by the RCN to specifically highlight the achievements of the “nursing family in Wales”. The winners will be announced and prizes awarded on 14 November at City Hall in Cardiff.

Nurses can be nominated for the awards by peers, teams, managers, patients and the public. The nominated nurses and healthcare support workers must demonstrate a “passion for their profession and exemplify distinction in care, leadership, service and innovation”, said the RCN.

The winners will be selected by panels of judges across a total of 19 award categories made up of distinguished nursing leaders and experts in their fields of practice and research.

This year, RCN Wales noted that it was also introducing a new category on safeguarding, which is sponsored by the National Independent Safeguarding Board.

Royal College of Nursing Wales

Sister says working A&E night shift is more stressful than war zone

Tina Donnelly

Tina Donnelly, director of RCN Wales, said: “These prestigious awards recognise the very best in nursing, delivery for our patients and their families and nursing achievement.

“This is the seventh year that the awards have allowed us to celebrate the brightest stars of the nursing family in Wales,” said Ms Donnelly.

“Each year we are delighted to see the very high standard of entrants accurately reflecting the high standards of health care delivery occurring in Wales each and every day,” she said.

She added: “Our award winners and runners-up exemplify the nursing profession’s highest values: dedication to patient care, leadership, altruism and compassion and commitment to service.”

Gaynor Jones, chair of the RCN Welsh Board and RCN council member for Wales, said: “This event is a tribute not only to those who receive awards on the night but to the excellence of the many thousands of practicing nurses throughout Wales.”

Last year’s RCN Wales Nurse of the Year was Louise Walby, who works as a respiratory nurse facilitator with Cwm Taf University Health Board.

She was marked out for her dedication to improving the diagnosis, treatment and care of patients with chronic lung disease, in one of the worst hit areas and her passion for staff development.

“Being nurse of the year has provided me with opportunities and experiences I have not had previously,” she said. “I wish every success to this year’s winner.”

“It is a privilege to be able to represent the face of modern nursing”

Louise Walby

She added: “It is a privilege to be able to represent the face of modern nursing and to showcase the remarkable work that healthcare professionals are doing to ensure that patients get the very best care possible.”

Jason Mohammad, BBC presenter and journalist, and Andrea Byrne, ITV Wales Presenter and journalist will co-host this year’s ceremony.

The closing date for entries is 24 June 2018. Nomination forms are available via the RCN Wales website or by emailing

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.