Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

‘Our awards show just how much nurses can achieve’

  • 1 Comment

The Nursing Times Awards always fill me with admiration for nurses, but this year was particularly special for me personally because it was my first as editor.

It has been another outstanding year for entries as the nursing profession continues to come up with better ways of providing care, innovating and integrating, and sharing best practice. Despite the challenges they face, as ever, our entrants set a very high bar and demonstrated what fantastic care and innovation can be achieved by nurses, often with few resources other than a really great idea and the determination to see it through.

Among the winners across our 23 categories this year were our Nurse of the Year, our Rising Star, the Team of the Year and the recipient of the Chief Nursing Officers’ Award for Lifetime Achievement. 

“Every single finalist should be proud of making the shortlist”

Helen Scullion, urology advanced nurse practitioner in radiology from South Tees Hospital Foundation Trust, was named Nurse of the Year at a glittering ceremony held at the prestigious Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane on 31 October. The judges described her as an amazing nurse and said that her patients are at the heart of everything she does. Meanwhile, the Team of the Year was Clare Ward from Surrey and Borders Partnership Foundation Trust and our Rising Star was Emily Pitkethly, from Northumbria Healthcare Foundation Trust.

This year’s Chief Nursing Officers’ Award for Lifetime Achievement went to Professor Ruth Northway, a leading expert in learning disability nursing from the University of South Wales. The UK’s first professor of learning disability nursing, she now acts as a champion of the field at national level, focusing on issues such as health inequality and safeguarding. That this award should go to a learning disability nurse this year is particularly appropriate due to the current challenges in the field.  

But every single finalist should be proud of making the shortlist. The expert panels I spoke to during the judging process in September consistently spoke of the high quality and inspirational nature of the entries they had judged. 

You can find out more about this year’s winners and finalists in the awards supplement

I hope you will be inspired to enter next year, so that we can continue to highlight all your inspiring practice and innovation.

  • 1 Comment

Readers' comments (1)

  • The other amazing thing is that we do it for bugger all money...

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.