Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

RCN announces shortlist for nursing innovation award

  • Comment
The RCN Research Society has announced the shortlist for the Akinsanya Award 2009 for Innovation in Doctoral Scholarship in Nursing.

The award is granted to the most innovative thesis in nursing disciplines and aims to celebrate and promote excellence in nursing scholarship, innovation and its potential to influence health care policy and practice.

The shortlisted theses and their authors for the Akinsanya Award 2009 for Doctoral Scholarship in Nursing are:

  • Palliative care for people with learning disabilities – Dr Irene Tuffrey

  • Gypsies and travellers accessing primary health care: interactions with health staff and requirements for ‘culturally safe’ services – Dr Patrice Van Cleemput

  • Engaging families with a premature family history of heart disease: A primary prevention study for coronary heart disease – Dr Martha Wrigley

  • Exploring stability of methods in measuring body composition in primary care – Dr Valerie Sheppard

Annie Topping, professor of health and social care at University of Huddersfield and chair of this year’s judging panel, said: ‘The standard of submissions was yet again excellent making it a hard job for the shortlisting panel.’

The winner will be announced at the RCN International Nursing Research Conference in Cardiff during March.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.