Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

RCN launches annual search for Welsh nurse of the year

  • Comment

The Royal College of Nursing in Wales has issued a call for nominations for its fourth annual nurse awards.

The awards were created the awards three years ago to highlight Welsh nursing’s “best and brightest talents”.  

Nurses can be nominated for the 16 awards on offer by colleagues, teams, managers, patients and the general public.

“Nurses in Wales are delivering excellent and innovative care to patients on a daily basis”

Tina Donnelly

Those nominated must demonstrate a “passion for the nursing profession and exemplify distinction in care, leadership, service and innovation”.

Tina Donnelly, director of RCN Wales, said the hundreds of award applications received each year proved that nurses in Wales were “delivering excellent and innovative care to patients on a daily basis”.

“We are ready to welcome nominations from those who wish to celebrate the hard work and commitment of their colleagues, or their carers,” she said while launching the call for nominations at Spire Cardiff Hospital

In addition to winning an award, category winners will receive a monetary prize plus a trophy. The overall winner will receive the accolade of being recognised as “Wales Nurse of the Year 2015”.

Last year’s overall winner was Veronica Jarman, who said the accolade of nurse of the year had provided many opportunities, including being featured in the media and speaking at events.

“I would urge anyone who recognises something exceptional in an individual working as part of the nursing family in Wales to nominate them,” she said.

Nomination forms for each category can be found on the RCN Wales website.

The opening date for nominations is 13 April and closing date for all nominations is 25 June.

The winners of the awards will be announced at a gala dinner on 19 November held at Cardiff’s City Hall.


  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.