Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

New awards to recognise nurse and midwifery research in Scotland

  • 1 Comment

A new awards scheme for research carried out by nurses, midwives and allied health professionals based in Scotland has been launched to showcase their work and encourage others to follow suit.

The Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health Professions Research Awards 2015 will see at least three winners named across categories that recognise innovation, the impact of research, and those who are taking advanced steps to develop their research careers.

Successful nominees will receive up to £500 each to help further their research career, such as attending a conference or training sessions.

“We hope that by rewarding excellence… we can encourage talented and up and coming NMAHP researchers to become the research leaders of tomorrow”

Gaylor Hoskins

The scheme is supported by the chief nursing officer for Scotland Fiona McQueen and is being run by the Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health Professions Research Unit (NMAHP RU) at the University of Stirling, which is funded by the Scottish Government.

Gaylor Hoskins, clinical academic research capacity and capability manager at the NMAHP RU, said: “NMAHPs are ideally placed to both implement existing effective interventions and strategies in efficient and person-centred ways, and to develop new interventions and models of care that can prolong and add to quality of life.

“We recognise the potential for improving the patient experience by encouraging NMAHPs to become involved in research that will impact on their own and their colleagues’ clinical practice,” she said. 

CNO for Scotland

The awards are supported by CNO for Scotland Fiona McQueen

She added: “We hope that by rewarding excellence and showcasing the work that NMAHPs are currently doing we can encourage talented and up and coming NMAHP researchers to become the research leaders of tomorrow.”

Healthcare professionals can nominate themselves, colleagues or teams via the NMAHP RU website, with applications being accepted until 30 June.

Winners will be announced at an event in the autumn in Edinburgh.

  • 1 Comment

Readers' comments (1)

  • In the teaching hospitals in Western Australia where I have worked I have noticed since the implementation of the career structure several years ago, that specialist nurses have made a difference in their specialty. It is time that the health (disease) arena recognise that there are other professionals who can and do add to the improvement of the patients and their care.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs