Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

One hundred MPs sign up to visit GP practices

  • Comment

Practice nurses in many parts of England have received a visit from their local MP, following the successful launch of a scheme by doctors’ leaders.

A 100 MPs from across the political spectrum have so far accepted an invitation from the British Medical Association to see first-hand the day to day workings of a GP practice.

Launched in June 2013, the BMA’s GP practice visit scheme is designed to allow MPs to see the pressures facing primary care.

Among those who have arranged a visit is former Conservative health secretary Andrew Lansley and former Labour health minister Ben Bradshaw. No serving members of the coalition’s health team have so far taken part.

Dr Chaand Nagpaul, chair of the BMA’s GP committee, said: “I am delighted that 100 MPs have taken up the BMA’s offer of spending time with a local GP practice and their staff since we launched the scheme in June.

“It is vital that politicians get a real understanding not just of the pressures that many practices are facing, but how greater support from government would help general practice deliver even better care to patients,” he said.

BMA chair Dr Mark Porter added: “There is still time for those MPs who have not joined the scheme so far to arrange a visit through the BMA.

I would strongly urge all Members of Parliament to take this important opportunity to see first-hand how general practice works.”

The following MPs have signed up to take part in the scheme:

  • John Bercow, Buckingham, Cons
  • Stewart Jackson, Peterborough, Cons
  • George Eustice, Camborne and Redruth, Cons
  • David Amess, Southend, Cons
  • Oliver Heald, North East Hertfordshire, Cons
  • Rehman Chishti, Gillingham and Rainham, Cons
  • Andrew Stephenson, Pendle, Cons
  • James Brokenshire, Old Bexley and Sidcup, Cons
  • Dame Angela Watkinson, Hornchurch and Upminster, Cons
  • Jane Ellison, Battersea, Cons
  • Henry Bellingham, North West Norfolk, Cons
  • Martin Vickers, Cleethorpes, Cons
  • John Howell, Henley, Cons
  • Sir Paul Beresford, Mole Valley, Cons
  • Nick Gibb, Bognor Regis and Littlehampton, Cons
  • Andrew Mitchell, Sutton Coldfield, Cons
  • Mark Lancaster, Milton Keynes North, Cons
  • Graham Evans, Weaver Vale, Cons
  • Fiona Bruce, Congleton, Cons
  • Anne Marie Morris, Newton Abbott, Cons
  • Tobias Ellwood, Bournemouth East, Cons
  • Christopher Chope, Christchurch, Cons
  • Bob Walter, North Dorset, Cons
  • Stephen Metcalfe, South Basildon and East Thurrock, Cons
  • Priti Patel, Witham, Cons
  • Laurence Robertson, Tewkesbury, Cons
  • Neil Carmichael, Stroud, Cons
  • Gerald Howarth, Aldershot, Cons
  • James Clappison, Hertsmere, Cons
  • Laura Sandys, South Thanet, Cons
  • Julian Brazier, Canterbury, Cons
  • Gordon Henderson, Sittingbourne and Sheppey, Cons
  • Simon Reevell, Dewsbury, Cons
  • Chloe Smith, Norwich North, Cons
  • Brandon Lewis, Great Yarmouth, Cons
  • Simon Wright, Norwich South, Cons
  • Robert Goodwill, Scarborough and Whitby, Cons
  • Chris Heaton-Harris, Daventry, Cons
  • Andrew Lansley, Cambridgeshire, Cons
  • Christopher Pincher, Tamworth, Cons
  • Mark Pawsey, Rugby, Cons
  • John Glen, Salisbury, Cons
  • Paul Uppal, Wolverhampton South West, Cons
  • Karen Lumley    Redditch County, Cons
  • Robin Walker, Worcester, Cons
  • Harriet Baldwin West Worcestershire, Cons
  • Roger Gale, North Thanet, Cons
  • Nicky Morgan, Loughborough, Cons
  • Jeremy Wright, Kenilworth and Southworth, Cons
  • Karl McCartney, Lincoln, Cons
  • Michael Fallon, Sevenoaks, Cons


  • Kelvin Hopkins, Luton North, Lab
  • Jim Cunningham, Coventry South, Lab
  • Sir Tony Cunningham, Workington, Lab
  • Karl Turner, Hull East, Lab
  • Mike Wood, Batley and Spen, Lab
  • Jon Ashworth, Leicester South, Lab
  • Luciana Berger, Liverpool Wavertree, Lab
  • Andy Love, Edmonton, Lab
  • Seema Malhotra, Feltham and Heston, Lab
  • Helen Jones, Warrington North, Lab
  • Ian Lavery, Wansbeck, Lab
  • Meg Munn, Sheffield Heeley, Lab
  • Alex Cunningham, Stockton North, Lab
  • Jamie Reed, Copeland, Lab
  • Ben Bradshaw, Exeter, Lab
  • Rosie Winterton, Doncaster Central, Lab
  • Ian Austin, Dudley North, Lab
  • Ian Mearns, Gateshead, Lab
  • Alison Seabeck, Portsmouth, Lab
  • George Howarth, Knowsley, Lab
  • Catherine McKinnell, Newcastle upon Tyne North, Lab
  • Andy Sawford, Corby, Lab
  • Angela Smith, Penistone and Stocksbridge, Lab
  • Bridget Phillipson, Houghton and Sunderland South, Lab
  • Ed Balls, Morley and Outwood, Lab
  • Jonathan Reynolds, Stalybridge and Hyde, Lab
  • Yvonne Fovargue, Makerfield, Lab
  • Lisa Nandy, Wigan, Lab
  • Emma Reynolds, Wolverhampton North East, Lab
  • Emma Lewell-Buck, South Shields, Lab
  • Andy McDonald, Middlesbrough, Lab
  • Mark Hendrick, Preston, Lab
  • Rosie Cooper, West Lancashire, Lab
  • Karen Buck, Westminster North, Lab
  • Chi Onwurah, Newcastle Central, Lab
  • Barry Sheerman, Huddersfield, Lab
  • Margaret Hodge, Barking, Lab


  • Sarah Teather, Brent East, Lib Dem
  • John Pugh, Southport, Lib Dem
  • Sir Alan Beith, Berwick upon Tweed, Lib Dem
  • Andrew Stunnell, Hazel Grove, Lib Dem
  • Ed Davey, Kingston, Lib Dem
  • Norman Baker, Lewes, Lib Dem
  • Sir Bob Russell, Colchester, Lib Dem
  • Duncan Hames, Chippenham, Lib Dem
  • Andrew George, St Ives, Lib Dem
  • Tom Brake, Carshalton and Wallington, Lib Dem
  • Paul Burstow, Sutton and Cheam, Lib Dem
  • Mark Hunter, Cheadle, Lib Dem
  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.