Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Inaugural Student Nursing Times Awards celebrates student nurse talent

  • Comment

Student nurses, nurse leaders, universities and lecturers came together yesterday at the St Paul’s Grange Hotel in London to commend student nurse talent.

Jane Cummings, NHS Commissioning Board Chief Nurse and Deputy Chief Executive for NHS North West, said: “I’m really pleased that Student Nursing Times are recognising the most promising students. I want every nurse to be proud of their profession. The real skill of modern nurses is to treat patients with dignity and respect. There is nothing that says you can’t be academic and compassionate, those who say you can’t insult the nursing profession.

“I’m really optimistic about the future of nursing, you are the future, you’ve got the power, so use it for the advantage of your patients.”

The first winner of the night was Mentor of the Year, Jane Maria Williams from Betsi Cadwaladr University, who said she felt very moved by the occasion. “It’s a really moving moment, I came to nursing late and it changed my life. Investing in students is a way of saying thanks.”

Lecturer of the Year was won by Mark Wheatley from Teesside University who added how important it is to celebrate student nurses. “I’m thrilled to win, I thought that if I won today it would validate that I was getting something right. I’ve never forgotten what it’s like to be a student nurse, I will take this award forward to inspire student nurses as to what you can achieve if you work hard and are committed to being a good nurse.”

Student Nurse of the Year: Child, Vivien Gregory from Greenwich University, said: “I’m going to stick this award in the cabinet at university, I want others to think, if she’s won one award, I want to win two. I want to inspire my colleagues, you can always do better.”

The shortlist

Student Nurse of the Year: Adult

  • Christelle Page, Plymouth University
  • John Scudder, University of Bedfordshire
  • Kerri O’Connell, Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Lorna Davies, University of York
  • Marie Llewellyn, Birmingham City University
  • Rebecca Phillips, Teesside University
  • Richard Mealor, University of Cumbria

Student Nurse of the Year: Children’s

  • Benjamin Low, Northumbria University
  • Carly Townsend, University of Manchester
  • Danielle Pettitt, Bournemouth University
  • Vivien Gregory, University of Greenwich

Student Nurse of the Year: Learning Disabilities

  • Anthony Green, Bangor University
  • Claire Watts, Kingston University
  • Matthew Mclean, University of York

Student Nurse of the Year: Mental Health

  • Astrid Willis, University of Stirling
  • Charlotte Mills, University of Nottingham
  • Chloe Perkins, Oxford Brookes University
  • Jennifer Smee, Oxford Brookes University
  • Lisa Roberts, Glasgow Caledonian University

Lecturer of the Year

  • Claire Buchner, Queen’s University Belfast
  • David Marshall, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Jen Tapping, Kingston University
  • Mark Wheatley, Teesside University
  • Amelia Williamson, University of Birmingham

Nurse Education Provider of the Year: Pre-registration

  • Manchester Metropolitan University
  • University of Southampton
  • Glyndwr University
  • University of Stirling
  • University of Manchester

Nurse Education Provider of the Year: Post-registration

  • Northumbria University
  • University of Huddersfield
  • Education for Health

Student Placement of the Year

  • Crisis Resolution and Home Treatment Team, Manchester Mental Health Social Care Trust
  • Critical Care, Aintree University Hospital Foundation Trust
  • Emergency Department, Medway Foundation Trust
  • Marie Curie Hospice, Newcastle
  • Your Healthcare
  • Bolton Foundation Trust
  • Coronary Care Unit, Cornwall
  • County Durham and Darlington Foundation Trust

Mentor of the Year

  • Jane Maria Williams, Betsi Cadwaladr University Local Health Board
  • Louise Davison, Manchester Mental Health and Social Care Trust
  • Rosca Marange, Orchard Lodge, East London Foundation Trust

Teaching Innovation of the Year

  • Edinburgh Napier University, Disseminated model
  • University of the West of Scotland
  • Kingston University and St George’s, University of London
  • University of Stirling
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Southampton
  • Edinburgh Napier University, Third-year student nurses facilitating clinical skills for first-year students
  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.