Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Swine flu has spread to 11 countries, says WHO

  • Comment

Swine flu has now spread to 11 countries, according to official World Health Organization figures.

Outside Mexico and the United States, swine flu has been detected in Austria (1 case), Canada (19 cases), Germany (3 cases), Israel (2 cases), Netherlands (1 case), New Zealand (3 cases), Spain (13 cases), Switzerland (1 cases) and the United Kingdom (8).

The United States Government has reported 109 confirmed cases, including one death. Mexico has reported 97 confirmed human cases of infection, including seven deaths.

Anyone who is ill should delay international travel, the WHO advises, although there is no need for border controls to be introduced.

It adds there is no risk from well-cooked pork or pork-related products.

The WHO added it was not officially declaring a pandemic, signified by a move to pandemic alert level six, the highest possible.

Dr Keiji Fukuda, assistant director-general for health, security and environment at the WHO, said: ‘We don’t have evidence to suggest we should move to phase six, or that any such move is imminent.’

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs