Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Top nurses recognised in Queen's Birthday honours

  • Comment

One of the country’s top cancer nurses and leading nursing academics has been made a dame in the Queen’s Birthday honours.

Professor Jessica Corner is dean of the faculty of health sciences at Southampton University and was the first nurse to chair the Institute of Cancer Research at the Royal Marsden Hospital.

More than 20 nurses and midwives, plus other leading lights from the world of healthcare, have also been recognised in the Queen’s Birthday honours list, which was announced last night.

Jessica Corner

Jessica Corner

Dr Glynis Henry, chief executive of the Northern Ireland Practice and Education Council for Nurses and Midwives, and Professor Lesley Page, president of the Royal College of Midwives, both become Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE).

Professor Jill Maben, director of the National Nursing Research Unit at King’s College London, and Kay Fawcett, the former chief nurse of University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust, are among those becoming Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE).

Jill Maben

Jill Maben

Meanwhile, the man who led two inquiries into the care failings at Mid Staffordshire Foundation Trust has been made a knight.

Robert Francis QC chaired the high profile public inquiry into Mid Staffordshire, which published its policy-influencing findings last year, as well as an earlier inquiry into events at the trust.

Robert Francis

Robert Francis

His public inquiry report, published in March 2013, made 290 recommendations to improve care within the NHS – many of which focused on nursing.

Mr Francis told the BBC: “I feel very honoured, but above all pleased at the recognition of the importance of getting the service right, which remains a work in progress.”

See below for nurses and midwives mentioned in this year’s Queen’s Birthday honours list.



Robert Anthony Francis – QC Chairman, Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust Public Inquiry. For services to Healthcare and Patients. (London)


Dames Commander of the Order of the British Empire

Professor Jessica Lois Corner – Dean of Health Sciences, University of Southampton. For services to Healthcare Research and Education. (King’s Somborne, Hampshire)


Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Professor Hilary Mavis Graham − Professor of Health Sciences, University of York. For services to public health research. (York, North Yorkshire)

Professor Helen Hally −Director, Race for Health. For services to healthcare and to the community. (Crawford, Lanarkshire)

Dr Glynis Henry – Chief Executive, Northern Ireland Practice and Education Council for Nurses and Midwives. For services to Healthcare in Northern Ireland. (Fintona, Tyrone)

Professor Catherine Mary Law − Professor of Public Health and Epidemiology, University College London Institute of Child Health. For services to public health. (Romsey, Hampshire)

Professor Lesley Ann Page – President, Royal College of Midwives. For services to Midwifery. (Rutherway, Oxfordshire)


Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Gillian Angela Clarke – Lead Nurse for Gynaecological Services, Stockport NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Nursing. (Stockport, Greater Manchester)

Professor Carol Irene Curran – For services to Nursing and Education in Northern Ireland. (Larne, Antrim)

Kay Fawcett – Lately Chief Nurse, University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Nursing. (Nuneaton, Warwickshire)

Sandra Lawton – Nurse Consultant Dermatology, Queen’s Medical Centre, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust. For services to Nursing. (Baslow, Derbyshire)

Professor Jill Elizabeth Maben – Professor of Nursing Research and Director of the National Nursing Research Unit, King’s College London. For services to Nursing. (London)

Susan Elizabeth Sheridan –President, Nightingale Fellowship. For Susan Norman services to Nursing. (London)

Johanne Tomlinson – Staff Nurse, HMP Stafford, Staffordshire and Stoke on Trent Partnership NHS Trust. For services to Prison Nursing. (Newport, Shropshire)


Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Anne Cawthorn – Macmillan Nurse and Psychotherapist, Blythe House Cancer Care Centre. For services to Cancer Patients in Manchester and Derbyshire. (High Peak, Derbyshire)

Carole Ann Davies – Lately Cystic Fibrosis Nurse Specialist, Llandough Hospital, Cardiff. For services to Nursing. (Dinas Powys, Vale of Glamorgan)

Mary Anne Devlin – Lately Head, Clinical Education Centre for Health and Social Care in Northern Ireland. For services to Nursing and Health and Social Care in Northern Ireland. (Belfast)

Susan Anne Jones – Lead Nurse, School Health Nursing, Abertawe Bro Morgannwg Health Board. For services to Children and Young People in Neath Port Talbot. (Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot)

Paulette Beatrice Lewis – Interim Assistant Director for Community Services, Harrow, Ealing Hospital NHS Trust. For services to Nursing and to Young People in Jamaica. (London)

Dr Karen Elaine Madden – Head of Midwifery, South Eastern Trust. For services to Maternity Care in Northern Ireland. (Newtownards, Down)

Lyn Annette McIntyre – Deputy Nurse Director, Patient Experience, NHS England Midlands and East. For services to Nursing. (Newmarket, Cambridgeshire)

Enid Bertha Patient – Divisional Superintendent, Walthamstow Nursing Cadets. For voluntary service to St John Ambulance. (London)

Diana Patrick – Nurse and Fundraiser, Cransley Hospice, Northamptonshire. For services to Healthcare. (Kettering, Northamptonshire)

Caroline Diane Sanders – Consultant Nurse, Paediatric Urology and Gynaecology, Alder Hey Children’s Hospital and Senior Researcher, UCLan. For services to Paediatric Urology and Gynaecology. (Greater Manchester)

Katherine Emma Saysell – Chief Executive and Director of Nursing, St David’s Hospice Care. For services to Voluntary Sector Health Provision in Newport, South Wales. (Chepstow, Newport)

Gillian Smith – Director for Scotland, Royal College of Midwives UK. For services to Midwifery and Partnership in Scotland. (Livingston, West Lothian)


Medallist of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

Catherine Twaddle Mondoa – Consultant Nurse Cardiology, Forth Valley Royal Hospital. For services to Nursing and the Forth Valley Healthy Hearts Club. (Doune, Perth and Kinross)

Alison Janet Rae – Oncology Nurse Specialist. For services to Palliative Care in Orkney. (Newport-on-Tay, Fife)


Associate of the Royal Red Cross (2nd Class)

Chief Petty Officer Naval Nurse Jenny Louise Dyson – Queen Alexandra’s Royal Naval Nursing Service

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.