Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Win a copy of The Nightingale Girls

  • 1 Comment

Registered users of nursingtimes.net can win a copy of The Nightingale Girls

The Nightingale Girls is the first in a series of novels following the lives and loves of three girls who sign up in 1936 as nurses in the East End.

Three very different girls sign up as student nurses in 1936, while England is still mourning the death of George V. Dora is a tough East Ender, driven by ambition, but also desperate to escape her squalid, overcrowded home and her abusive stepfather. Helen is the quiet one, a mystery to her fellow nurses, avoiding fun, gossip and the limelight. In fact she is in the formidable shadow of her overbearing mother, who dominates every aspect of her life.

nightingale_girls

Can a nursing career free Helen at last? The third of our heroines is naughty, rebellious Millie an aristocrat on the run from her conventional upper class life. She is doomed to clash over and over again with terrifying Sister Hyde and to get into scrape after scrape especially where men are concerned.

Perfect for fans of Call the Midwife, this utterly delightful novel brings a London pre-war hospital vividly to life.

How to enter

To enter please email spage@randomhouse.co.uk with your name and contact details and The Nightingale Girls, Nursing Times’ in the subject line to be in with a chance of winning a copy. Ten winners will be picked at random when the competition closes on 31 October 2012.

  • 1 Comment

Readers' comments (1)

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.